Handbook of European HPC projects


Pan-European Master for High Performance Computing

EUMaster4HPC is composed of European universities, research/supercomputing centres and industrial partners with the mission of defining a joint curriculum in HPC across Europe, defining the body of knowledge to master the HPC field and creating a collaborative network leveraging and strengthening the European ecosystem in HPC.

EUMaster4HPC will develop a higher education programme to:

  • Educate students in areas such as the design, deployment, operation, and/or the use of current and future generation HPC and HPC-related technologies in Europe;
  • Educate experts skilled in driving HPC adoption and knowledge transfer in industry and academia in different strategic domains, thereby linking HPC activities in industry and academia.

The availability of HPC experts, such as HPC administrators and architects, HPC proficient data scientists, HPC application developers, and expert users, is a key factor that drives digital transformation in Europe and requires the training of highly skilled and talented graduate students.

In addition to the vision and the objectives of the project, EUMaster4HPC will pursue the creation of European added value in the following areas:

  • broad European inclusion of major players and stakeholders of HPC in Europe, including universities, research centres, supercomputing centres, experts, industry, Centres of Excellences (CoEs) and HPC-related entities;
  • cutting-edge knowledge in HPC and HPC-related technologies;
  • a strong link with the industry;
  • a catalyst of growth in the HPC industry will offer practical and concrete case studies applied to the use of HPC, advanced programming, and simulation;
  • a sustainability of the master programme.




Coordinating Organization:
University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Project Timespan
2022-01-01 – 2025-12-31

Other Partners:
  • BSC – Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  • CINECA – Consorzio Interuniversitario, Italy
  • KTH – Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan, Sweden
  • INRIA – Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et Automatique, France
  • Chalmers Tekniska Hoegskola, Sweden
  • CINI – Consorzio Interuniversitario Nazionale per l’Informatica, Italy
  • SISSA – Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati di Trieste, Italy
  • CaSToRC-CyI – Computation-based Science and Technology Research Centre – The Cyprus Institute, Cyprus
  • Sorbonne Université, France
  • CESGA – Fundación Publica Gallega Centro Tecnológico de Supercomputación de Galicia, Spain
  • NTUA – National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • IT4Innovations – VSB – Technical University of Ostrava, Czechia
  • Universidade da Coruña – CITIC, Spain
  • INPT – Inst. Nat. Polytechnique Toulouse, France
  • Leonardo, Italy
  • Sofia University St Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria
  • ETP4HPC – European Technology Platform for High-Performance Computing, Netherlands
  • University of Pannonia, Hungary
  • University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France
  • Middle East Technical University, Turkey
  • Trinity College, Ireland
  • Universität Stuttgart, Germany
  • Helmut-Schmidt-Universität, Germany
  • Université d’Orléans, France
  • Swiss National Supercomputing Centre – CSCS, Switzerland
  • Gdansk University of Technology, Poland
  • University of Maribor, Slovenia
  • University of Nova Gorica, Slovenia
  • Università di Pisa, Italy
  • Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Universidade de Evora, Portugal
  • LuxProvide, Luxembourg
  • Nationales Hochleistungsrechnen, Germany
  • University of Luxembourg Competence Centre, Luxembourg
  • CSC-IT Centre for Science Ltd, Finland
  • Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • GRNET – Ethniko Diktyo Erevnas Technologias AE, Greece
  • POLIMI – Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
  • Technische Universität Wien, Austria
  • Teratec, France
  • The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey, Turkey
  • Université Grenoble Alpes, France
  • UNIBO – Alma mater studiorum – Universita di Bologna, Italy
  • Universidade do Minho, Portugal
  • Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy
  • Università degli Studi di Pavia, Italy 
  • Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy
  • Universität Innsbruck, Austria
  • Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Universität Wien, Austria
  • University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Università della Svizzera Italiana – USI, Switzerland
  • Academic Computer Centre Cyfronet AGH, Poland
  • CERFACS – Centre Européen de Recherche et de Formation Avancée en Calcul Scientifique, France
  • E4 Computer Engineering SpA, Italy